Year 6 to Year 7 Transition

Joining Imberhorne School

Making the move from primary to secondary school is an exciting time. We feel it is very important that we ensure that parents and students are guided by us through this journey. We have a large team of experienced staff ready to help your sons and daughters and support you as they make that next step.

A team of our staff visit primary schools during June, this is the beginning of us getting to know your sons and daughters. Our Pastoral Support Assistants talks to all the students during these visits. They are available all day for any Imberhorne student to talk to and are office based so always available. We also bring current students with us to talk to the Year 6 classes. Other key staff discuss each student individually with the class teacher at this stage.

Additional Reassurance

For students who are identified as needing extra reassurance, we have small group visits arranged by the SENCO at each primary school. This is an ideal time for them to meet other students and complete team building activities as part of getting to know the school. We will also have extra visits where schools or parents feel there is a need. We are very flexible in this approach.

In July we hold our “Meet and Greet” sessions where parents and students have an opportunity to meet a member of the Senior Leadership Team, Head of Year, SENCO, Learning Mentors and staff responsible for transport and medical issues.  We complete scans for our cashless catering system and the uniform shop staff are present so students may try on uniform before ordering. We trialled this last year with excellent feedback so we are continuing with this event. It really helped us to continue the “getting to know you” process.

Induction day for students is also in July. This is a thoroughly enjoyable day where students sample lessons and of course our school canteen. Peer mentors from Year 8 will support students throughout the day as they move around and get to know the school. They will also spend time with their form tutor. On the same day the Year 6 Parents' Briefing Evening takes place so parents can also meet the form tutor day as well as receive a presentation from Mr Brown, Headteacher, Mrs Timson, Assistant Headteacher and the Head of Year.

Please let us know if you have any further questions about this process so we can help support children and parents as they join us at Imberhorne.

Key Staff

Heather Timson, Assistant Headteacher, Leading Key Stage 3 - htimson [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk

Amanda Devery, SENCo (Maternity Cover 2018/2019) - adevery [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk

Marie Yates, Inclusion Manager  - myates [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk

Lisa Galloway & Sam Perks, KS3 Pastoral Support Assistants - ks3pastoralsupport [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk

Tracey Monaghan, Key Stage 3 Secretary  – tmonaghan [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk

Sandra Cook, Transport and Welfare Manager  - scook [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk

Louise Johnson, Transition Learning Support Assistant - ljohnson [at] imberhorne [dot] co [dot] uk